Minutes for Whitstable Cricket Club AGM

7.30 on Friday 18th of November 2022

1) Apologies for absence:

Dean Larking, Tony Larking, Sheila Larking, Audrey Porter, John Butterworth, Jake Guinan, Paul Rowden, Duncan Hardy, Stuart Clements, John Bainbridge, Eddie Churchley, Linda Long, Time Long, Fran Moss, Peter Hill, Colin and Lesley Smith, Scott Dale, Lorne Hart, Tom Phyllis, Andy Bennett, Dave Fulton, Steve and Clare Holness, Matt Goss, Andy Robertson.

In attendance:

Nick Denly, Garry Tremain, Katharine Tremain, Buzz Gould, Simon Stonehouse, Chris Smith, Danny Pilbeam, Stuart Drakely, Josh Smith, Luke Jackson, Fred Wratten, Steve Wynn, Elliot Lewis, Sam Denly, Barry Phillis, Kai Denly, Jaydn Denly, Alan Nutten, Louise Richards, Phil Priston, Gary Martin, Linda Martin, Neil Murell, Kay Robertson, Alan Keam

- Minutes of AGM 2021
 Sent by email voted as true by Jim, seconded by Buzz.
- Matters arising from the AGM 2021 No matters arising
- 4) Reports

Chairmans Report:

Every team got promoted last year, it is a credit to every captain and those on the selection committee. Nick congratulated all involved.

Groundsman shed- Josh and Garry thanked for all their hard work. Lots of work has been undertaken around the ground during the past year. The club has benefitted from a new bar, showers, boiler system, carpets, the hedges have been trimmed, tree maintenance has been done, the artificial nets have been refreshed and safe pathways have been created.

Sarah has been employed as our bar manager and has done a marvellous job. The bar will be open for the England world cup matches.

Everything is very positive at Whitstable Cricket Club and we remain a friendly, family orientated club

Nick thanked all those involved in the clubs success.

Cricket Manager:

We achieved what we set out to achieve, all three teams were promoted. It was a shame though that the first team didn't win their league. Buzz won the batting award, Sam came second, Jaydn 3rd, Drakely 4th. Bowling – Josh Lock-30 wickets, Keys, Jaydn, Shakeem. Our overseas player helped us improve as a club, helping us to win a couple of games and securing us promotion.

Dave Fulton and Sam have worked together to get the club to where it is today.

Sam thanked Garry and the rest of the coaches for their work within the Colts section.

Sam is stepping down as cricket manager to focus on being the first team captain.

<u>Treasurers Report:</u>

Copies of the digital accounts left out for members to read.

We started the year with around £16,000 in the account. The club were gifted a large donation in a will. The bar has been profitable this year and has gone 'from strength to strength' and is taking record amounts of money. We do now have to pay VAT. Simon says that Sarah is doing a fantastic job running the bar.

Lorne audited the accounts with Rumpy and Dean. He said that the main and junior accounts were in good order and very healthy.

Bob Cogger is to replace Dean Larking as auditor – proposed Fred, seconded Gary Martin.

Colts Report: Sent in advance

The Colts section are in a very good way, we are getting to the point where we may not be able to take on any more colts on a Tuesday evening.

Thanks to Phil, Barry, Garry, Sam, Nick and the committee members.

Membership Report:

Below are the numbers of members registered to the club in the 2021/22 season

- Social members- 52
- Vice President members- 28
- Lifetime Vice President members-10
- Senior player members-27
- Colt playing members-84
- Softball members-166

5) Audit

As mentioned above in the treasurers report, no issues were raised. Dean is stepping down as an auditor and Bob Cogger is taking his place.

- 6) Questions to committee and answers No question
- 7) Election of officers President- Lorne Hart, Chairman- Nick Denly, Secretary- Helen Gambrill, Treasurer- Simon Stonehouse, Welfare Officer- Steve Wynn, Cricket Manager- Sam Denly to step down, Sam proposed Josh Smith, Buzz seconded his appointment, Membership Secretary- Jim Long and Publicity Officer- Garry Tremain.

Attendance at Committee meetings during 2021/22:

Nick Denly: 12

Steve Wynn: 7

Garry Tremain: 12

Stuart Drakely: 9

Josh Smith: 9

Andy Bennett: 10

Elliot Lewis: 9

Paul Gambrill: 11

Matt Goss: 6

Fred Wratten: 9

Simon Stonehouse: 8

Helen Gambrill: 10

Sam Denly: 9

Sarah: 1

Katharine: 1

8) Election of Committee members:

No other committee members were nominated. The same committee members were voted back in (Paul Gambrill, Fred Wratten, Andy Bennett, Josh Smith) Luke Jackson stepped down during the year as a committee member and Matt Goss was seconded onto the committee. Matt has since decided to step down as a member of the committee. Dave Fulton would like to be seconded on, this will happen at the next committee meeting.

9) Any other business

Presidents cup was awarded to Simon Stonehouse by Nick, on behalf of Lorne.

Meeting finished at 20.00.